Home / Features / In Brief / 318 | Honors
Monday, Aug. 12, 2019

318 | Honors


Rotary Club Honors Robert Smith

The Rotarian of the Year Award for 2018-2019 has been presented to Robert Smith by Immediate Past President Joe Littlejohn.

Smith joined the local club in 2017 and very quickly became a Paul Harris Fellow. He is the former co-chair of the Red Badge Committee and led the Meals on Wheels Thanksgiving food delivery project during his first year. During the last Rotary year, Smith chaired a committee called Community Action Committee, where some ad hoc activities could be placed under a leadership umbrella. He actively planned the ticket sales for the Polio World Day dinner at Ernest’s Restaurant and visited every local club to sell tickets. He will be promoting this event again this year.

Robert is the co-owner and CEO of Preferred Care at Home of Northwest Louisiana.

This award was initiated by thenclub president Larry Evensky during the 2012-2013 Rotary year to recognize a non-board member who was very helpful to the president in fulfilling that year’s goals.

Rotary Club of Shreveport is a member of Rotary International. Rotary is an organization of business and professional leaders united worldwide who provide humanitarian service, encourage high ethical standards in all vocations, work to eradicate polio worldwide, and help build goodwill and peace in the world.

SLT announces BRAVO! Award winners

Shreveport Little Theatre and Academy held their 18th annual BRAVO! Awards at Ono’s Hawaiian Grill on Aug. 4. The event celebrated SLT’s past 97th season of live community theatre.

Margaret Elrod and Willis-Knighton Health System received SLT’s Board of Directors’ Award. Robert Alford awarded the President’s Award to Carol Ferrara, SLT Guild president, and the President’s Award of Merit to Gene Cassanova, SLT’s archival photographer and videographer. O. Delton Harrison Jr. was recognized for his decades of support of the performing arts and SLT.

Best production and acting awards are voted on by SLT’s season members. Actors are nominated by their directors. SLT’s managing and artistic director Dr. Robert Darrow and board president Robert Alford II served as emcees for the ceremony.

The Best 97th Season MainStage Production award went to “Inherit the Wind,” directed by Mary Joris. The Best Lagniappe Production was awarded to “Erma Bombeck: At Wit’s End,” directed by Anna Maria Patton. The 97th Season Musical was “Memphis,” directed by Laura Beeman Nugent and musical direction by Adam Philley, and choreography by Roshanda Spears.

Jim Cowles won the Best Actor in a Leading Role award for his performance in “Inherit the Wind.” Jennifer Carsillo won the Best Actress in a Leading Role award for her performance in “Cash on Delivery.” The Best Actor in a Supporting Role award winner was Carter Calahan for his performance in “Cash on Delivery There was a tie for the award for Best Actress in a Supporting Role, and the award was given to Janin Pou for her performance in “One Slight Hitch” and Jennifer Carsillo in “Inherit the Wind.”


The Forum News