Home / Dining & Events / On The Scene / On the Scene
Tuesday, Nov. 1, 2022

On the Scene


The Shreveport Chamber of Commerce’s Young Professionals Initiative hosted a joint event as the monthly networking social and the annual 40 Under Forty reunion social. The event had tasty food and drinks at the downtown Southern University Museum of Art Shreveport and allowed all the former recipients of the 40 Under Forty award to reconnect. This year’s 40 Under Forty Awards Gala is Friday, Dec. 2. – Mark Crawford

Young Professionals

1) Alex Richardson, Emerie Gentry, Britt Pope, Billy Anderson and Trisha Jowell

2) Alexis Morris, Renisha Sanders and Breunka Moon

3) Badreka Harper, Kristen Powers and Angelique Feaster Evans

4) Chelsey Weatherly, Darlenna Atkins-Davenport, Brett Brown and Meg Davenport

5) Craig McCloud, Liz Crews, Carly Koen and Jennifer Burke

6) Dellanee Wade, Emily Hamann and Cassie Williams

7) Victor L. Thomas and Erica McCain

8) Joysaline Young and Tierra Heard

The Shreveport Chamber of Commerce hosted the 2022 J. Pat Beaird Industry of the Year Luncheon at Sam’s Town Casino and Hotel on Thursday, Sept. 22. This annual event, sponsored by the J. Pat Beaird Memorial Fund and presented by Regions Bank, allows the chamber to bring nationally recognized speakers to the area and honors an outstanding industry who demonstrates “Best Practices” of entrepreneurship, such as sound business planning, fiscal responsibility and innovation in operating their business. The speaker this year was Stephen E. Murphy, a special agent with the Drug Enforcement Administration. Murphy and his partner, Javier Pena, targeted the world’s first narco-terrorist, Pablo Escobar, and the Medellin Cartel. Brookshire Grocery Company was recognized as the Industry of the Year. – Mark Crawford

J. Pat Beaird Awards

1) Les Tompkins, David Solomon, Bonnie Hughes and Africa Price

2) Steve Randall, Karen Barnes and Dani Zoorob

3) Tracy Young and Katie Theriot

East Ridge Country Club was the locale for the 16th Annual Better Business Bureau Torch Awards. The keynote speaker for this year’s event was Dr. Timothy J. Magner, president of the Shreveport Chamber of Commerce. Winner of the Integrity Award – Pintail Roofing; Customer Commitment Award – Learning RX of Shreveport/Bossier; Good Neighbor Award – Carter Credit Union; and the winner of the Non-Profit Award – MLK Health Center and Pharmacy. – Hugh Johnson

BBB Torch Awards

1) Dr. Timothy J. Magner and BBB board chairwoman Lisa Janes

2) Lisa Frye, Donna Murray and Greg Thompson

3) Katy McGee and Hanna Mir

4) KTBS’ George Sirven, Sherri McCallie, Patrick Dennis, Valerie Cosby, Jan Elkins, Josh Wheeler, Hillary George and Lindsay Dean

5) Sue Gilley, Robin Guenard, Pat Offutt, Marye-Anna Jackson and Jane Sears

To be included in OTS, e-mail your high-res photos to editor@318forum.com. Must include a daytime phone number. Or, contact Mary Ann Van Osdell at mavo@softdisk. com or Mark Crawford at markcrawford1@aol.com for coverage.


The Forum News